Description
The former Convent of Santa Croce, in the castle of Sant`Anatolia di Narco, was the centre of the spiritual life of the valley from the 13th century.
It is believed that Beata Cristina, Franciscan tertiary (L. Iacobilli, Vita dei SS. e BB.dell`Umbria, III Tomo pg. 293 V), lived here during the 15th century. For almost two centuries, from 1400 on, there is no more news on the Convent until Bishop De Lunel arrives to the centre of Umbria during a pastoral visit and finds it derelict in 1571.
In 1610, Cesare Cardini rebuilt the complex, placing it under the protection of the Lateran Basilica. Later, the Convent also accommodated the order of the Franciscan Friars, as is reported by the document which certifies the pastoral visit of Bishop La Scaris (Tomo IV Carta c. 30 V dated 15/06/1712).
The former convent has been refurbished and features interesting frescoes on the inside.